A vital key: Remove Negativity

This is an excerpt from The Maker’s Diet

“One of the keys to my own recovery was to remove negative thinking and negative statements from my life. When I went to California to live with the man who taught me the first principles of how to eat foods from the Bible, he forced me to examin my negative thinking. Basically, he gave me no choice.

I stayed in his home, and we studied the Bible in family meetings every day. He would not tolerate any negativity. I used to sit in the meetings wearing a frown, which had become a regular part of my wardrobe for two years. He eventually made me sit in another room because he didn’t want his kids to learn that negative demeaner from me! His tough standards of conduct amounted to a rough boot camp for my soul.

I had no one to complain to because the family was not allowed to entertain negative words. And somehow the positive principles he waught we wearing off on me. I remember thinking as I left the bathroom one time, I may have a stomachache in ten minutes, but right now I am fine, so I am healed. And I started believing my positive statement and thanking God for my healing. I learned to count my blessings for the few moments that I had when I was free from pain and nausea. It was a valuable lesson in learning how to live a moment-to-moment life of thanksgiving.

One night, after several weeks on the biblical diet, I finally believed that I was healed. I would no longer focus on the negative or on what would happen tomorrow or in the next hour. I had to take conscious steps to make the change from negativity to thinking positive thoughts, but it was worth it! If I could only say positive things (which were all that were allowed in that home), I had to find the positive in my seemingly negative situation. When I had a short time in which I didn’t feel agonizing pain, I started to say, “I am well for this moment.” I discovered that faith is not just something you say– it is something you live, moment to moment.

The impact of this change in my thinking was a huge factor in my healing. I believe that faith and positive thinking, based on God’s Word, are vital keys to recovering and maintaining health. That is why faith the size of a tiny mystard seed can move mountains. (Se Matthew 17:20) When I was sick, I was unhappy; I didn’t have tangible joy, but I had faith. That was the seed–or foundation–from which my miracle could “grow”.

Psychologist Dan Baker discovered virtually the same thing after dealing with the devastating death of his infant son, Ryan. The author of What Happy People Know, he said that after his son’s death, he “wanted to wrestle with God and rewrite history.” He said, “Happy people are hugely resilient on the whole. One thing happy people know is that they don’t get to be happy all the time. They can appreciate the moments, the little victories, the small miracles and the relationship with one another.” ”

 

So I challenge you to start with one day of saying nothing negative, then build on that. If you don’t have anything positive to say, don’t say anything. But I like what he said about finding the positive in his situation, just so that he could speak!

I just made a poster for the girls, and I plan on enforcing it with a reward type program. The poster says: THINK before you speak.

T- Is is true?

H- is it helpful?

I- is it inspiring?

N- is it necessary?

K- is it kind?

Depending on where you’re at in your health, how long you’ve struggled, or what type of personality you have, you may start taking it out on others. Coping with your pain by speaking negatively to others. It becomes habit. I do it all the time. So this is one thing to keep in mind, and also, no complaining. There IS a difference between discussing your symptoms with someone and complaining about them. If discussing them might help you work through them or find a treatment or a cause, then that is fine. If you’re just complaining for release, don’t do it!

Leave a Reply

